Alphabetical index


European Union agencies

The agencies of the European Union are bodies set up by the European Union (EU) to carry out a specific technical, scientific or administrative task.

The first agencies were set up in the 1970s but most of them started work in 1994 or 1995, following the decision of the Brussels European Council (October 1993) on the sitting of the headquarters of seven of them. The most recent are the executive agencies that have been created to manage one or more European programmes. These are established for a fixed period of time and are located in Brussels or Luxembourg.

29 bodies currently meet the definition of a Community agency, though referred to by various names (centre, foundation, agency, office, monitoring centre, etc.).

As autonomous organisations, the agencies are a heterogeneous group, with a common organisational model. They can be divided into three sub-groups according to their areas of activity, to which the executive agencies have recently been added.

European Union agencies:

  • OHIM – Office for Harmonisation in the Internal Market (Trade Marks and Designs), with its headquarters in Alicante (Spain);
  • CPVO – Community Plant Variety Office, Angers (France);
  • ERA – European Reconstruction Agency, Thessaloniki (Greece);
  • EMEA – European Medicines Agency, London (United Kingdom);
  • EFSA – European Food Safety Authority, Parma (Italy);
  • EMSA – European Maritime Safety Agency, Lisbon (Portugal);
  • EASA – European Aviation Safety Agency, Cologne (Germany);
  • ENISA – European Network and Information Security Agency, Heraklion (Greece);
  • EU-OSHA – European Agency for Safety and Health at Work, Bilbao (Spain);
  • ECDC – European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, Stockholm (Sweden);
  • CEDEFOP – European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training, Thessaloniki (Greece);
  • EEA – European Environment Agency, Copenhagen (Denmark);
  • EUROFOUND – European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions, Dublin (Ireland);
  • EMCDDA – European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction, Lisbon (Portugal);
  • EFRA - European Fundamental Rights Agency, Vienna (Austria);
  • ERA – European Railway Agency, Valenciennes and Lille (France);
  • ETF – European Training Foundation, Turin (Italy);
  • CdT – Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union, Luxembourg;
  • CFCA – Community Fisheries Control Agency, Vigo (Spain);
  • FRONTEX – European Agency for the Management of Operational Cooperation at the External Borders of the Member States of the European Union, Warsaw (Poland);
  • ECHA – European Chemicals Agency, Helsinki (Finland);
  • European Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) Supervisory Authority, Brussels (Belgium);
  • EIGE - European Institute for Gender Equality, Vilnius (Lithuania).

Agencies in the field of the common foreign and security policy:

  • EDA – European Defence Agency, Brussels (Belgium), headed by the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy;
  • EUISS – European Union Institute for Security Studies, Paris (France);
  • EUSC – European Union Satellite Centre, Madrid (Spain).

Agencies in the field of police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters:

  • Eurojust – The European Union's Judicial Cooperation Unit, the Hague (Netherlands);
  • Europol – European Police Office, the Hague (Netherlands);
  • CEPOL – European Police College, Bramshill (United Kingdom).

Executive agencies:

Executive agencies are organisations established under Council Regulation (EC) n° 58/2003. They are entrusted with the management of one or more Community programmes. These agencies are set up for a fixed period. They are located at the seat of the European Commission.

  • Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency, Brussels (Belgium);
  • Executive Agency for Health and Consumers (EAHC), Luxembourg;
  • Executive Agency for Competitiveness and Innovation (EACI), Brussels (Belgium);
  • European Research Council Executive Agency (ERC), Brussels (Belgium);
  • Research Executive Agency (REA), Brussels (Belgium);
  • Trans-European Transport Network Executive Agency (TEN-TEA), Brussels (Belgium).

EURATOM Agencies and bodies:

  • Fusion for Energy (European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy), Barcelona (Spain).


Legal notice | About this site | Search | Contact | Top