Alphabetical index


Confirmation of the European Commission

The confirmation procedure comprises two stages:

  • election of the President of the Commission;
  • adoption of the list of Members of the Commission.

The President of the Commission is elected by the Parliament by a majority of its members, on a proposal of the European Council acting by qualified majority. The choice of the candidate for the Presidency of the Commission should take account of the results of the elections in the European Parliament.

In consultation with the President-elect, the Council then adopts the list of the other Members of the Commission. These people are chosen on the basis of suggestions made by the Governments. The Commission is subject, as a body, to a vote of approval of the European Parliament. Based on that approval, it is appointed by the European Council acting by qualified majority.


Legal notice | About this site | Search | Contact | Top