Alphabetical index


Composition of the European Commission

From the entry into force of the Treaty of Lisbon and until 31 October 2014, the Commission is made up of one national of each Member State, including the President of the Commission and the new High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, who is one of its Vice-Presidents. The term of office is five years.

From 1 November 2014, the Commission will be made up of a number of members corresponding to two thirds of the number of Member States, unless the European Council decides unanimously to change the number.

Members of the Commission are chosen from among the nationals of the Member States in accordance with a rotation system which is strictly equal between Member States, based on the principle of strict equality of treatment between countries in terms of sequence and time spent as members. This system was established unanimously by the European Council in accordance with Article 244 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU). Members of the Commission are chosen on the basis of general competence and commitment to Europe, from among a number of people all offering guarantees of independence. The composition of the Commission should also reflect the geographical and demographic diversity of the Union.

In consultation with the President-elect, the Council adopts the list of Members of the Commission based on the suggestions made by the Member States. The President, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and the other Members of the Commission are subject, as a body, to a vote of approval of the European Parliament. Based on that approval, the Commission is appointed by the European Council acting by qualified majority.


Legal notice | About this site | Search | Contact | Top