Alphabetical index
This page is available in 11 languages

We are migrating the content of this website during the first semester of 2014 into the new EUR-Lex web-portal. We apologise if some content is out of date before the migration. We will publish all updates and corrections in the new version of the portal.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.



Short-term priorities:


  • Preparing the measures necessary for the creation and operation of administrative structures responsible for the common agricultural policy and rural development policy;
  • Veterinary and plant health: continuing with alignment and improving inspection arrangements, particularly at the future external borders.

Assessment (November 2001)

Cyprus must continue to make progress as regards the common organisations of markets, the Integrated Administration and Control System (IACS) and setting up a paying agency. Efforts must also be continued as regards rural development and forestry and transposing the acquis on veterinary and plant health matters.


  • Continuing to align legislation on the acquis as regards the registration of fishing vessels under the Cypriot flag;
  • Continuing to build up administrative capacity, particularly as regards the inspection and control of such vessels and the establishment of a separate register for the fishing fleet.

Assessment (November 2001)

The Cypriot fishing fleet is being reorganised. The priorities as regards inspection and control measures continue to be respected, with in particular the introduction of a fishing vessel register.

Assessment (November 2003)

Please refer to the fact sheets on the adoption of the Community acquis.

Medium-term priorities:


  • Continuing preparations for implementing the common agricultural policy and rural development policy.

Assessment (November 2001)

The priorities are partly respected.

Assessment (November 2003)

Please refer to the fact sheets on the adoption of the Community acquis.

Following the signing of the Accession Treaty on 16 April 2003, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia acceded to the European Union on 1 May 2004.


Decision 2000/248/EC, 20.03.2000
Official Journal L 78, 29.03.2000

Commission Report COM(2001) 700 final - SEC(2001) 1745

Commission Report COM(2003) 675 final - SEC(2003) 1202
Not published in the Official Journal

Treaty of Accession to the European Union [Official Journal L 236, 23.09.2003]

This summary is for information only and is not designed to interpret or replace the reference document.

Last updated: 19.11.2004
Legal notice | About this site | Search | Contact | Top