Alphabetical index
This page is available in 11 languages

We are migrating the content of this website during the first semester of 2014 into the new EUR-Lex web-portal. We apologise if some content is out of date before the migration. We will publish all updates and corrections in the new version of the portal.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Cyprus - Political Criteria


Short-term priorities:

  • maximise efforts to support a settlement under the auspices of the UN.

Assessment (November 2001)

The Cypriot government took part in negotiations to sort out the situation facing the island. However, this was stopped following the unilateral retreat from negotiations by the Turkish community in November 2000.

Assessment (October 2002)

In January 2002 Mr Glafcos Clerides and Mr Rauf Denktash started a dialogue under the auspices of the UN to reach a political agreement. Since Cyprus has continued its efforts to reach a settlement on the division of the island, it can be said that the partnership priority has been complied with.

Assessment (November 2003)

Please refer to the fact sheets on the adoption of the Community acquis.

Following the signing of the Accession Treaty on 16 April 2003, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia acceded to the European Union on 1 May 2004.


Decision 2000/248/EC, 20.03.2000
Official Journal L 78, 29.03.2000

Commission Report COM(2001) 700 final - SEC(2001) 1745
Not published in the Official Journal

Commission Report COM(2002) 700 final - SEC(2002) 1401
Not published in the Official Journal

Commission Report COM(2003) 675 final - SEC(2003) 1202
Not published in the Official Journal

Treaty of Accession to the European Union [Official Journal L 236, 23.09.2003]

This summary is for information only and is not designed to interpret or replace the reference document.

Last updated: 19.11.2004
Legal notice | About this site | Search | Contact | Top