Alphabetical index

We are migrating the content of this website during the first semester of 2014 into the new EUR-Lex web-portal. We apologise if some content is out of date before the migration. We will publish all updates and corrections in the new version of the portal.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Institutional and economic framework of the euro

Economic and monetary affairs

So far, 17 of the 27 Member States of the European Union have introduced the single currency. The European Central Bank and the national central banks together form the Eurosystem which aims to maintain price stability within the euro zone and protect the euro's purchasing power. Member States wishing to introduce the euro must meet certain economic criteria (“convergence criteria”). The United Kingdom and Denmark have negotiated opt-out clauses and do not participate in the single currency.

Legal notice | About this site | Search | Contact | Top