Alphabetical index

We are migrating the content of this website during the first semester of 2014 into the new EUR-Lex web-portal. We apologise if some content is out of date before the migration. We will publish all updates and corrections in the new version of the portal.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Overseas countries and territories (OCT)


The twenty-one overseas countries and Territories (OCTs) depend constitutionally on four of the European Union (EU) Member States: Denmark, France, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom. OCT nationals are European citizens.
However, these countries do not form part of EU territory. Accordingly, they are not directly subject to EU law, but they benefit from associate status conferred on them by the Treaty of Lisbon. The aim of this association is principally to contribute to their economic and social development.

See also

Legal notice | About this site | Search | Contact | Top