Alphabetical index

We are migrating the content of this website during the first semester of 2014 into the new EUR-Lex web-portal. We apologise if some content is out of date before the migration. We will publish all updates and corrections in the new version of the portal.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

African, Caribbean and Pacific states (ACP)


The European Union and the African, Caribbean and Pacific countries (ACP countries) enjoy special relations that can be traced back to the Union's beginnings. These political, economic and social relations are to be found mainly in the field of development cooperation.

The Cotonou Agreement signed in 2000, follows on from the previous conventions (Yaoundé, Lomé) and currently provides the general framework for relations between the Union and the 79 ACP countries. This framework is reinforced by regional and national components and supplemented by a financial component represented mainly by the European Development Fund (EDF).

See also

Legal notice | About this site | Search | Contact | Top