Navigation path

Web accessibility policy

All the official websites of the EU institutions – collectively known as EUROPA - should follow international guidelines for accessible web content, so they can be accessed and understood by as many people as possible without discrimination.

The guidelines we aim to follow are the Web content accessibility (WCAG) guidelines (version 1.0) issued by the World wide web consortium (W3C) as part of the Web accessibility initiative.

All new EUROPA sites should meet the criteria for level A (priority 1) compliance – the basic standards recommended by the WCAG guidelines.

Some of the introductory “top-level” pages on EUROPA already have a “W3C – WAI A” logo on them to show they comply with the level A guidelines. We are working to bring as many lower-level pages as possible up to the same standard of accessibility (though these do not need a logo).

For more information on what we are doing, see our own guidelines on producing accessible webpages.

Language selection using a keyboard

Many EUROPA pages have a dropdown language selection box in the top right corner. To view the list of available languages, keyboard users should press TAB until the box is selected then "ALT+down arrow" to expand the list.

This mechanism of language selection is used to minimise the number of mouse-clicks needed to select a language.


Campaign for e-inclusion
EU e-inclusion site - with sections on older people, e-accessibility, the broadband gap, inclusive e-Government, digital literacy and culture.
Report - progress on e-accessibility in Europe

Policy papers

European e-inclusion initiative (2007)
Accessible technology [202 KB] (2005)
Accessibility of public websites [102 KB] (2001)


General information enquiries

00 800 6 7 8 9 10 11 See details of service

E-mail your questions

Contact and visit details for institutions, press contacts

Help us improve

Find what you wanted?


What were you looking for?

Any suggestions?